Top 50 Twitter users in Yorkshire

Twitter has been in the media far too much recently as it continues to become much more mainstream. There are now an estimated 5,000-10,000 new followers joining Twitter every day.

My colleague Paul Crouch has been compiling some information on the Twitter users from Yorkshire for a project he is working on and I thought it could be useful to people looking for Yorkshire users. The list he has generated has more than 500 users, so I have just taken the top 50 as of today.

Please be aware this isn’t a definitive list and the situation changes by the second – so it can never be fully up-to-date. It has been compiled using Twitterholic. Paul selected each of the main towns and cities in Yorkshire and printed lists of these and then combined them. He then sorted the lists by the amount of followers. As there isn’t a system which calculates users by region this is about as accurate he could get at present without inserting every single village and town name. It still took several hours to compile and sort but please accept my apologies if we have missed anyone off. Please feel free to add yourself to this list by adding a comment below clearly stating how many followers you have and where you are based.

Don’t worry if you didn’t make it I only made a lowly 32nd place anyway.

idth=”86″>230

Rank Name (screen name) Followers
1 Chris Spooner (chrisspooner) 2,138
2 thefluffanutta (thefluffanutta) 1,716
3 Anna Farmery (Engagingbrand) 1,347
4 Patrick Altoft (patrickaltoft) 1,306
5 Darren Cronian (travelrants) 1,194
6 tonybeach (tonybeach) 1,135
7 Bullying UK (bullyinguk) 1,041
8 amandafazani (amandafazani) 1,012
9 Stuart Bruce (stuartbruce) 972
10 Jed Hallam (jedhallam) 805
11 Edd Dumbill (edd) 737
12 Jonathan (sharpendtrain) 685
13 Jonic (jonic) 637
14 Imran Ali (imran) 566
15 Susanna Bellini (Susanna777) 533
16 Community Media Assn (community_media) 532
17 andymurd (andymurd) 513
18 Melise Jones (melisej) 503
19 Ramin (ramin987) 463
20 Thehodge (Thehodge) 439
21 Carla Marshall (Mousebox) 408
22 technicavita (technicavita) 398
23 watfordgap (watfordgap) 372
24 Greywulf (greywulf) 327
25 Caius Durling (Caius) 319
26 Mat Murray (matmurray) 311
27 Jen Goodison (jenjeng) 297
28 Adam Taha (adamtaha) 290
29 Ian Ibbotson (ianibbo) 290
30 Stanton (stanton) 284
31 Heather Fenoughty (hethfen) 278
32 chris_norton (chris_norton) 278
33 Footballonthetv (Footballonthetv) 266
34 Stuart Grimshaw (Stubbs) 257
35 James Lunn (jameslunn) 256
36 Peer Lawther (peerlawther) 249
37 Aden Davies (aden_76) 239
38 Jalada (jalada)
39 James Ward (jamesward) 221
40 jaycousins (jaycousins) 209
41 richard (giantrat) 204
42 Mohsin (mohsin) 201
43 ALSN The_real_R2D2 (the_real_r2d2) 197
44 Kev Campbell-Wright (kevupnorth) 196
45 Lorna Mitchell (lornajane) 194
46 Andrew Middleton (amiddlet50) 189
47 Ian Traynor (Ian_Traynor) 187
48 Sam Oakley (samoakley) 184
49 Steve Cogan (SteveCogan) 184
50 Joanne Morley (Joanne_Morley) 183
7 comments on “Top 50 Twitter users in Yorkshire
  1. This is an interesting post.
    However, it does open the debate as to what consists ‘top’ Twitterers? Is it simply number of followers or should it take into account quantity of tweets, number of RTs and links or even the quality of tweets?
    Would be interesting to look at this for future posts about ‘top’ Twitterers.

  2. @alex and @andymurd thanks for your comments.
    @Amy Johnston this list was calculated from combining several lists generated from Twitterholic. Paul selected all of the main conurbations and then added them together and sorted by the number of followers. I realise this isn’t ideal but it is a good start.

  3. Pingback: MD of Prohibition PR is officially revealed as the top PR person in Yorkshire according to Peer Index | Dinosaur PR - A Leeds and York Based PR Company

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *